News|October 16, 2010 3:41 am

Yash Chopra Honored With National Kishore Kumar Award

Veteran filmmaker, Yash Chopra has added one more crown on his head as Madhya Pradesh Government honored the director with the National Kishore Kumar award for the year 2009-2010. The award announced at the 23rd death anniversary of legendry singer, Kishore Kumar.

State Cultural Minister Laxmikant Sharma conferred the award ceremony and said,

“By agreeing to accept this award, Yash Chopra has added to the reputation of Madhya Pradesh as a state. He is one such great director whose films have been socially relevant since more than 50 years,”

Chopra, who has films like “Waqt”, “Deewar”, “Kabhi Kabhie”, “Silsila”, “Dil To Pagal Hai” and “Veer-Zaara” to his credit, was overwhelmed at receiving this award and thanked the Madhya Pradesh government, said a press statement issued here.

The Kishore Kumar award, given in fields of direction, acting, script writing and lyrics every year, was instituted by the Madhya Pradesh government in 1997.

Noted Bollywood personalities like Hrishikesh Mukherjee, Gulzar, Shyam Benegal and Amitabh Bachchan had received it before.