News|June 19, 2012 6:28 pm

Madhur Bhandarkar, Shyam Benegal and Girish Karnad to receive presidential award

For their contribution to the Hindi language through cinema President of India Dr Pratibha Patil will present the Ganga Sharan Singh Puraskar to filmmakers Madhur Bhandarkar, Shyam Benegal and Girish Karnad.

The award is a literary honour of the Ministry of Human Resource Development’s Kendriya Hindi Sansthan. The ceremony will be held on Wednesday, June 20 at the Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi.

Benegal and Karnad have already been honored with the Government of India’s Padma Shri and Padma Bhushan honors, for Bhandarkar it’s the fourth presidential award after his awards for Chandni Bar, Page 3 and Traffic Signal.

Bhandarkar said in a statement,

“Over the years, not just the audience or the industry but also the Government of our country has supported and acknowledged my work. I am honored and thankful to the HRD ministry for finding me befitting of this award.”

We at Fillum congratulate the filmmakers for receiving such a prestigious award.