News|March 7, 2012 3:26 pm

I want to believe it, says Vidya on first National Award

Actress Vidya Balan, who was declared the best actress for playing a sex symbol in “The Dirty Picture” at the 59th National Awards Wednesday, said she is still trying to believe that she has won the prestigious trophy.

I want to believe it..long cherished dream has come true…. my first…I don’t know what to say….I want to thank director Milan Luthira for giving me this film. This is really unbelievable…It is the biggest honour of the country…it is very special…every award is special.

Vidya, 33, said after winning the award.

Produced by Ekta Kapoor, the unofficial biopic of the southern sex siren Silk Smitha not only rocked the box office and set the cash registers ringing, it also won the maximum popular awards.

As the role is concerned, it really required mentally to be totally uninhibited…the film’s success has opened a lot of opportunities especially the kind of roles for the female actors. It is very nice to see that the line between so called meaningful cinema and commercial has blurred.

said the actress.

Marathi film ‘Deeol’, about the dilemma of educated youth in villages, and Kannada movie ‘Byari’, about Muslim girls trials and tribulations of in the Beary community, shared the best feature film award

Shah Rukh Khan’s superhero film ‘RA.One’ was named for best special effects and Harry Hingorani and Keitan Yadav won the award for their work in ‘RA.One’.

Director Onir’s ‘I AM’ was declared the best Hindi film, while Amitabh Bhattacharya won the best lyrics award for the song ‘Agar Zindagi’ in the film.

Nitesh Tiwari and Vikas Bahl directed ‘Chillar Party’ was named the best children’s film at the awards. The nine child artists in the film also shared the best child artist award along with Partho Gupte, who played the lead role in ‘Stanley ka Dabba’.

Chillar Party’ also won the prestigious award for the best original screenplay for writers Nitesh Tiwari, Vijay Maurya and Vikas Bahl.

The child artists from the film Chillar Party who won the award are Irfan Khan, Sanath Menon, Rohan Grover, Nama Jain, Aarav Khanna, Vishesh Tiwari, Chinmai Chandransuh, Vedant Desai and Divij Handa.

Bollywood choreographers Bosco-Ceaser won for directing popular song ‘Senorita’ in the film ‘Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara’.